Search

Search form

Staff Picks

Blackberry Winter

This book captured my interest from the first page and was a real page turner.  There are many threads to this story which enhances the read immensely. Read more about Blackberry Winter

The Double Game

A retired spy-turned-novelist once admits to young journalist Bill Cage that he had considered spying for the enemy; eventually damaging both their budding careers. Read more about The Double Game

The Light Between Oceans

This outstanding story captured my interest at the very beginning and it was hard to put down. The prose is beautiful, almost musical, in contrast to the harsh lives of the two main characters. Read more about The Light Between Oceans

The Ashford Affair

The best book that I’ve read in a while, “The Ashford Affair” kept me up late at night in a frenzy to finish. I enjoyed the format, alternating chapters between the 1990s and the 1920s as two intertwining stories unfold. Read more about The Ashford Affair

A Royal Pain

This fun, easy story reads like a contemporary Regency Romance. And really, what girl doesn’t want to be like Bronte Talbot with her stellar career, fabulous shoes, and a boyfriend who turns out to be a Duke?

Call Number: FIC  Mulry, M Read more about A Royal Pain

Benediction

I was calmed and comforted by this book.  A sparely and beautifully rendered tale of “Dad”, his neighbors,  customers, and family as he lives out his last days with them. Read more about Benediction

The Lavender Garden

Part historical fiction, part romance, with a definite mysterious Gothic undertone, I was immediately immersed in the two interlinked storylines in this novel. Read more about The Lavender Garden

Queen Bee of Tuscany

Sometimes I felt I had to run to keep up with this book. Janet Ross’s life in Egypt and Tuscany during the Victorian era was so full and eccentric that getting everything into the story must have been a real challenge to the author. Read more about Queen Bee of Tuscany

This is a compelling read in the vein of Born Free, Out of Africa, or Gorillas in the Mist, but somehow more accessible. Joan Root was a fascinating woman, devoted to Kenya and to her husband Alan Root. You might say she was betrayed by both. Or was it her naivete? Read more about Staff Pick: Wildflower: An Extraordinary Life and Untimely Death in Africa

The Blue Sweater

Jacqueline dreamed of saving the world and readily admits she initially fell flat on her face. Read more about Staff Pick: The Blue Sweater

Subscribe to RSS - Staff Picks