Search

Search form

Reader's Shelf Blog

The Lavender Garden

Part historical fiction, part romance, with a definite mysterious Gothic undertone, I was immediately immersed in the two interlinked storylines in this novel. Read more about The Lavender Garden

Queen Bee of Tuscany

Sometimes I felt I had to run to keep up with this book. Janet Ross’s life in Egypt and Tuscany during the Victorian era was so full and eccentric that getting everything into the story must have been a real challenge to the author. Read more about Queen Bee of Tuscany

This is a compelling read in the vein of Born Free, Out of Africa, or Gorillas in the Mist, but somehow more accessible. Joan Root was a fascinating woman, devoted to Kenya and to her husband Alan Root. You might say she was betrayed by both. Or was it her naivete? Read more about Staff Pick: Wildflower: An Extraordinary Life and Untimely Death in Africa

The Blue Sweater

Jacqueline dreamed of saving the world and readily admits she initially fell flat on her face. Read more about Staff Pick: The Blue Sweater

Nook HD, now available for checkout from Amherst Town Library

Be the first to check out our Nook HD tablet! If you're still waiting for Inferno, And the Mountains Echoed, or Beautiful Day, they are loaded and just waiting to be read. Read more about Our New Nook

Pages